Programming language recommendation?

I’m not a programmer by trade, but over the years I’ve taken a few classes and learned enough to cobble together some web apps. The problem is the only languages I’ve used are ASP / VBS and Perl. I’ve tried PHP but just have not clicked with it. Does anyone have a recommendation for a language that I can use for web dev that would be an easier transition than PHP? I’d prefer something open source but I primarily code on Windows. I would like to get into making some iOS apps though too. Thanks!

If you like Perl, you may also like Ruby.

1 Like

C# and asp.net are a natural path from asp & vbscript, and are technically open source :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’d agree too to give asp.net a try. VS community 2015 is free for your ide. If you focus carefully with .net core, you can deploy on Linux. Start with asp.net website or even the intro course at codeschool. If you do find yourself going the Microsoft way, sign up for your free azure credits as well. They have xamarin for mobile. If you want to stay more web for mobile, reactjs for mobile may be worth a look.

1 Like

@JeremyGood Are set on starting with back-end development? If not, then I might start with JavaScript. Since it’s on the front-end, it’s a bit easier to “play around with” and get results.

Either way, I’d recommend w3schools.com, codecademy.com and freecodecamp.com. Those are great resources. I’ve used the first two the most. Heck, I still refer back to w3schools for CSS proprieties and syntax at times.

As others have said, if you’re familiar with ASP and VBS, then ASP.Net or VB.Net might not be too far of a jump for you.

I’ve found PHP to be an easy transition for those with a C++ background (they share a lot in terms of syntax), so - if you’re set on learning PHP - maybe try your hand a bit at C++ as well.