Microsoft Exchange Online Block IP after failed login attempts

Is there a way to blacklist an IP based on failed login attempts?

I’ve recently had two user accounts compromised. In looking at the Audit Log, it appears their password was compromised but since their passwords were fairly difficult, I assume it was after numerous login attempts. Perhaps I’m wrong about that.

Do you have a firewall you can block the IP addresses at?

My mail server is on Unix (FreeBSD) and I’ve become very fond of the Fail2Ban application. It scans log files and looks for scriptable failure messages to blacklist IP addresses for a configurable period of time. It maintains a transient database that adds/removes firewall rules as needed.

I no longer get long lists of addresses trying to scan for usernames, or just pounding on it trying dictionary attacks. I am not familiar with similar tools for Windows but they may be out there.

I’m not an expert in such matters, but in my experience, it is far more likely that they replied to a clever phishing or spearphishing attack. I don’t know that I’ve ever seen evidence that one of our accounts was hacked, but we have several each year who enter their credentials into a form or page that looks legitimate to them, or came from someone they trusted. And if this happened in your case, then automatically blocking IP addresses after a specified number of failed login attempts might not solve anything.