Advice for Designing O365 Sharepoint Structure

Hey all –
I would like to move content off of our two file servers to Sharepoint in 365 at some point this year. I have very little experience with Sharepoint in general, so I’m looking for some advice on how to stand this thing up. Specifically, what is the best way to design the structure of it? I’m wondering if I should approach it from a hierarchical method or if there is a better approach. We currently have three campuses. Thanks for any input you can give.

I’d highly recommend you consider actually moving more to a Teams-driven architecture and plan. Teams is a much easier platform model for most users to understand and grasp. And it integrates the file sharing experience with the full communication and collaboration experience of Teams.
Here’s the dirty little secret: All file storage for Teams is backed by SharePoint. Teams just gives it a prettier front-end. Heck, you can even access all your ‘teams’ files directly in the old-school SharePoint interface if/when you really want to. Oh, and you get the magic of local sync using the OneDrive application on Windows and macOS (yep, the app is called OneDrive but it syncs data for OneDrive, SharePoint, and Teams).

For churches, we have found creating a team for each department/ministry group to be the most logical layout. And we encourage letting the pastor/admin/director of each department be the ‘owner’ of their team so they get to add and remove members of their team. It puts them in full control of who can access their files and collaborate with them directly. More user empowerment, less IT overhead.

My last bit of advice: You should help build the structure, and provide lots of training to users, but you should make them actually move their files. They need to be tricked/forced into using the new tool and they’re the only ones who can know what old files can be left behind since they aren’t really needed any more.